#### Partners of WHA Inc.

## **General Membership Business Meeting**

## October 1, 2019

# The Red Lion Paper Valley Hotel and Conference Center, Appleton, Wisconsin

President, Jan Molaska called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

Presentation of colors by the Scarlet Guard unit – American Legion Johnston-Blessman Post 38, Appleton, Wisconsin.

Pledge of Allegiance led by **Public Policy Chair, Bill McCullough** followed by the singing of our National Anthem.

Reflection by Sheree Schaefer

President Jan Molaska introduced those seated on the podium, President-Elect Peg Larson, State Secretary Sharon Scott, State Treasurer Julie Steiner and Parliamentarian Robert Schuck.

**State Secretary Sharon Scott** recognized for roll call.....267 registered convention attendees and 113 voting delegates seated.

**President-Elect Peg Larson,** by direction of the Rules Committee, moved to adopt the Standing Rules for the 2019 convention as printed and inserted within the convention folder. Vote favorable.

**President Jan Molaska** presented the meeting agenda, with corrections. Agenda adopted with corrections.

**State Secretary Sharon Scott** indicated the minutes of the 2018 Convention had been previously approved by the Committee of 3. Minutes will be filed accordingly. There was no correspondence.

**State Treasurer Julie Steiner** presented the financial report balance of \$89,772.41 effective as of 9/7/2019. The proposed 2020 budget was included in the convention folder. By direction of the Board of Directors, **State Treasurer Julie Steiner** moved the adoption of the proposed 2020 expense budget of \$87,735.00 (based on 9,000 members, convention income, In-kind and miscellaneous revenue) and net income of \$269.00. The vote was favorable. Proposed budget will be filed accordingly.

#### **Reports of Committees**

**President Jan Molaska** recognized **President-Elect Peg Larson** chair of the By-Laws committee. On behalf of the Bylaws Committee and endorsed by the Partners Board of Directors,

**Committee Chair Peg Larson** presented the following amendments, with rationale, individually for approval:

- 1. Article 5.....To add the Special Voters to sections 5.5 and 5.8
  - a. 5.5 to read "by a majority vote of the Member Voting Delegates and Special Voters from the District, at least three (3) District officers."
  - b. 5.8 to read "Except for a vacancy as a result of a removal by a vote of the Member Voting Delegates and Special Voters pursuant to Section 5.9

Vote favorable, amendment adopted.

- 2. To adjust terms and remove procedural language
  - a. Article 5.6 to read in its entirety

    <u>"5.6 Election</u> The District Officers shall be elected biennially to a two (2) year term."
  - b. Article 5.7 to read in its entirety

"5.7 Term Limits District Officers shall not serve more than two (2) consecutive terms in the same office and may serve again after being out of that office for at least one (1) term.

Vote favorable, amendment adopted.

- 3. To establish qualifications for district officer service
  - a. New article to insert after 5.5 This article is similar in language to the article regarding service to the state level board.

"Qualification. Each Officer shall be an individual. Officers need not be residents of the State of Wisconsin, but each Officer shall hold membership in a MEMBER of Partners."

Vote favorable, amendment adopted.

President Jan Molaska instructed the delegates the final vote on the proposed revised bylaws, as amended, would be taken by written ballot vote. All delegates and additional voting members, to include Partners of WHA Executive Officers (President, President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer), District Chairs, Community Health Chair, Public Policy Chair and Past Presidents were given a paper ballot. Leigh Ann Larson and Kari Hofer, WHA staff, served as clerks. Bylaws Committee Chair Peg Larson moved the adoption of the proposed bylaws, with adopted amendments. 105 ballots cast on the motion.......97 yes 8 no.....Vote favorable for adoption of the new Bylaws.

The following were recognized by **President Jan Molaska.** All reports found within the Convention folder.

Jaci Fuller Strategic Planning Chair, Sherry Jelic Community Health Education Chair, Bill McCullough Public Policy Education Chair, Sharon Scott 2019 Convention Chair, Kay Lyndahl Reaching Out Editor, Joyce Breen WAVE Chair, and Arletta Trejo Best of the Best Chair.

President Jan Molaska recognized Leigh Ann Larson, Vice-President of Education and Marketing for WHA and Partner Liaison, reported on legislative updates from the WHA lobbying group and reminded attendees of Advocacy Day March 18, 2020.

President Jan Molaska recognized Immediate Past President Bonnie Olson chair of the Nominating Committee. Attendees advised Officer applications will be due by March 21, 2020 with forms found on the Partners website. Nominating Committee Chair Bonnie Olson moved the approval of Dorothy Revnew, Linda Fish and Phyllis Malin to the nominating committee. Rose Raska seconded the motion. Vote favorable.

**President Jan Molaska** recognized **Webmaster Peg Larson.** Encouraged all those taking pictures of convention or activities within local organization be shared for placement on the website. An additional request was made for help or recommendation for a replacement Webmaster.

**President Jan Molaska** announced the following appointments:

- a. Committee of Three---Beth Burnham(Northwestern District), Paul Dobbratz(North Central District), and Dawn Hanson(Southeastern District)
- b. Beverly Lazar(Northwestern District) will serve as the 2020 Best of the Best Chair
- c. Jeannie Tatro(North Central District) will serve as the 2020 WAVE Chair.

President Jan Molaska recognized Patsy Pippin and Iva Mulhern, 2020 Convention Co-Chairs. The Convention Co-Chairs, on behalf of the hosting Western District, extended their invitation to the 2020 Convention to convene October 6-8, 2020 at the Chula Vista Resort, Wisconsin Dells. The 2020 Convention theme will be "Volunteers, Helping Hands Touching Hearts"......please adjust your wardrobe to include Red.

Annual General Membership Meeting adjourned by President Jan Molaska at 10:15 am.

Respectfully submitted:

**Sharon Scott** 

**Partners of WHA State Secretary**