top of page

******The Best of the Best Award as been paused in 2023******

  The Best of the Best Award  


The annual “Best of the Best Administrative Award” honors one top on-site administrator of a Wisconsin hospital who demonstrates a cooperative, supportive, enthusiastic, and well-defined relationship with his or her volunteer organization.

  Best of the Best          


Committee Chair - 

Committee - 


The original application and four complete copies must be submitted to the WHA office and postmarked

on or before: 

Best of the Best Award

Kyle Nondorf, president of SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital-Madison and interim president at SSM Health St. Clare Hospital-Baraboo, received Partners of WHA’s 2022 Best of the Best Administrative Award.


Pictured above are Kyle Nondorf (top center) and volunteers of SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital Madison.

  Recent Best of the Best Winners  

2021 Winner
John Russel, President & CEO, Prairie Ridge Health in Columbus
  (2021 Program is available here)
2020 cancelled
Due to the pandemic
2019 Winner
Timothy M. McKevett, President and CEO, Beloit Health System in Beloit
  (2019 Program is available here)
2018 Winner
Jenny Derks, Chief Administrative Officer, Ascension Calumet Hospital in Chilton
  (2018 Program is available here)
2017 Winner
Javon Bea, President and CEO of Mercyhealth in Janesville  (2017 Program is available here)
2016 Winner
Ned Wolf, President and CEO of Lakeview Medical Center in Rice Lake

  Prior Best of the Best Winners  

2015 Winner - David Grundstrom, Chief Administrative Officer of Flambeau Hospital in Park Falls (2015 Best of the Best Program)
2014 Winner  - Joan Coffman, President and CEO of HSHS St. Joseph's Hospital in Chippewa Falls
2013 Winner - Laurie Oungst, MBA, Regional Vice President of Operations for Ministry Health Care's Northern Region Hospitals,                                                                                                   including Ministry Eagle River Memorial Hospital in Eagle River
2012 Winners - Jon Rozenfeld, Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President of St. Mary's Hospital in Madison
                         Faye Deich, Chief Operating Officer at Sacred Heart Hospital in Eau Claire
2011 Winner - William Calhoun, Mercy Medical Center, Oshkosh
2010 Winner - Diane Postler-Slattery, Aspirus Wausau Hospital, Wausau
2009 Winner - Dr. Frank Byrne, St. Mary's, Madison
2008 Winner - Stan Gaynor, Black River Memorial Hospital, Black River Falls
2007 Winner - Greg Britton, Beloit Health System, Beloit
2006 Winner - Ron Paczkowski, Mayo Clinic Health System - Franciscan Healthcare, LaCrosse
2005 Winner - Garith Steiner, Vernon Memorial Healthcare, Viroqua
2004 Winner - Craig Kantos, ThedaCare Medical Center, Waupaca
   2019 WAVE and the Best of the Best Awards Informational Call   


On April 29, 2019 at noon, Partners hosted an informational call regarding the WAVE and the Best of the Best Award nominations.  Unfortunately, due to a technical error, the call was cut off. 


To hear the recording, click here.

The remainder of the answer that was cut off was to list organizations that were included in the collaboration.

Thank you to Joyce Breen, WAVE Chair, and Arletta Trejo, Best of the Best Chair, for sharing their expertise.

   2018 WAVE and the Best of the Best Awards Informational Call   


Thank you to Mary Lou Bausch, Best of the Best Chair, and Jennifer Frank, WHA Liaison, for their participation in last year's call. 


Click here for the Audio file from the call on May 8, 2018.

bottom of page